Betta Fish Care  
Go Back   Betta Fish and Betta Fish Care > Betta Fish Bowls, Habitats, and Accessories
Check out the eBook Betta Fish Care Made Easy
betta fish
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 04-11-2012, 07:35 AM   #1 
Gen2387
Member
 
Gen2387's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Montréal, Canada
Question about sand substrate.

I love the gravel in my tanks but I also think that sand looks really amazing but I was wondering how do you clean it? It's easy with gravel because all you have to do is use the gravel vacuum but what do you do during water changes if you have sand?
Gen2387 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2012, 08:07 AM   #2 
vilmarisv
Member
 
vilmarisv's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Seattle, WA
You still use the gravel vac but you keep it just above the sand so it just picks up the debris and not your sand. With the gravel you can place the vac against the gravel and even stir it a little with the tube but not with sand. It takes a bit of practice.
vilmarisv is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2012, 08:56 AM   #3 
Laki
Member
 
Laki's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: St. John's NL
What size tank are you keeping sand in? I have sand in my 3g (though I want to change it to black gravel) and when I do changes (I don't have a vac) I take everything out and swirl up the debris with a fishnet and catch everything. Then I swish up the sand with my hand and get any debris underneath.

I like sand for plants and such but it's a pain in the butt and sticks to everything. I like the smooth look of it but yea... Mine also smells weird sometimes.
Laki is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2012, 09:49 AM   #4 
Geomancer
Member
 
Geomancer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Boston, MA
I do a planted tank and never clean the substrate ;)

So much easier to maintain and do water changes when you don't have to worry about cleaning all the nooks and crannies.

Without plants though, the best you can do with sand is hover above it like said and get the larger particles. Get too close and you'll start sucking up the sand. Not a problem if you get a little on accident, but over time if you get too much each time you'll find yourself having to add new to replace the lost.

This is a picture of my sand tank, as you can see it's pretty clean even though I've never once used a vacuum on it.

Geomancer is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Sand Substrate? BetterBetta Betta Fish Bowls, Habitats, and Accessories 14 06-30-2011 06:50 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:11 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.