Betta Fish Care  
Go Back   Betta Fish and Betta Fish Care > Betta Fish Care
Check out the eBook Betta Fish Care Made Easy
betta fish

Old 04-13-2012, 07:38 AM   #1 
hmckin20

What to make of test results?

So I got the *actual* master test kit yesterday with my tax refunds (yay!) and I just finished testing my first tank.

pH: 6.0
Ammonia: whopping 4.0
Nitrite: 0
Nitrate: 0

So since I'm new at this, can someone translate and tell me if this is good or not?

The ammonia isn't good.. I have to go do a water change. But does the high ammonia level and low nitrite/nitrate levels mean the tank isn't cycled? anddd the pH is a lot more acidic than the instruction thing says, what should I do about that?

Also, how much of a water change should I do for this tank (and how often) to safely bring it down?
hmckin20 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2012, 09:19 AM   #2 
Oldfishlady

Well...its good and bad....good that the pH is 6 since this will cause the ammonia to be ammonium-but if the pH goes above 6 the ammonium will convert back to ammonia and at 4ppm could be deadly....

Be sure and follow the directions to the "T" especially shaking between reagents, time lines and reading results.
The #2 nitrate reagent-shake, bang and shake some more before use-it tends to settle and can give skewed readings....
Test both high and low pH

Test your source water-both with and without additives to get a base line

Some additives can cause skewed reading....

What size is the tank, filter, live plants, stocking, how long has the tank been running.
Oldfishlady is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2012, 10:04 AM   #3 
hmckin20

Yeah, the instructions manual had bolded like five lines concerning the nitrate test, haha.

Okay, I'll test the high pH too, and the regular water that we use when I do a water change today.