Betta Fish Care  
Go Back   Betta Fish and Betta Fish Care > Betta Fish Bowls, Habitats, and Accessories
Check out the eBook Betta Fish Care Made Easy
betta fish
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 04-12-2012, 07:24 PM   #1 
ILLBETHEJUDGE
Member
 
ILLBETHEJUDGE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: MIAMI, FL
Tank without substrate?

Is substrate really need it? Do you have a tank without it? Please post pictures.
ILLBETHEJUDGE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2012, 07:45 PM   #2 
JBosley
Member
 
JBosley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Ontario, Canada
All 3 of my tanks are bare bottom None have filters, nor are they cycled! Apparently cycled tanks need gravel to hold the good bacteria, so I have been told.

My tanks are so bare right now I need to get more decorations.... This is just 1 of my 3 tanks. It's the only picture of my bare bottom tanks that I have right now.
Attached Images
 
JBosley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2012, 07:54 PM   #3 
ZergyMonster
Member
 
ZergyMonster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Urbandale, IA
I only have 1 bare bottom tank, and that is because I don't feel like buying more rocks for a 3 gallon that I needed to get for a betta sorority emergency. I would post a picture but I am at work right now. In reality bare bottom tanks give your fish more room to swim. But if you're like me I want all my tanks to have some sort of garden look so I'll be putting in some plants later on.
ZergyMonster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2012, 07:54 PM   #4 
ILLBETHEJUDGE
Member
 
ILLBETHEJUDGE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: MIAMI, FL
Cool. I been thinking about removing the substrate from my tank but i wanna make sure is safe to do so.
ILLBETHEJUDGE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2012, 07:59 PM   #5 
JBosley
Member
 
JBosley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Ontario, Canada
Quote:
Originally Posted by ILLBETHEJUDGE View Post
Cool. I been thinking about removing the substrate from my tank but i wanna make sure is safe to do so.
It is! I also find it way easier to clean without substrate to rinse Thats the biggest bonus for me.
JBosley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2012, 08:11 PM   #6 
Olympia
TFK Moderator
 
Olympia's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Kingston, Ontario
Do you mean your large community tank? I wouldn't do it just in case it threatens the cycle. It's fine for smaller tanks though :p
Olympia is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2012, 08:15 PM   #7 
ILLBETHEJUDGE
Member
 
ILLBETHEJUDGE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: MIAMI, FL
Yeah, I have a 20 gallon long tank. do you think it would be unsafe to do it?
ILLBETHEJUDGE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2012, 08:25 PM   #8 
kfryman
Member
 
kfryman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Fremont, CA
Well a 20 will never have to be fully cleaned so I would say don't do it. It is beneficial to your tank as it is the #2 housing place for the bacteria, most is in your filter of course. I wouldn't o it as it may mess up your cycle, plus it just look better. Though in tanks that I would do 100%s I would have t barebottom.
kfryman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2012, 09:54 PM   #9 
Bombalurina
Member
 
Bombalurina's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Australia
I have a 5 gallon cycled tank (hospital tank) with no substrate. However, it does have some IAL on the bottom.
Bombalurina is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2012, 10:14 PM   #10 
lvandert
Member
 
lvandert's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Rapid City Sd
I have a 20 gal without gravel. It's supposed to be a growout tank but I didn't get bunches of babies so Dizzy is in it all by himself at the moment. It's super easy to clean and I don't have a filter (other than a sponge which is currently off) and its not cycled. He's so happy he's built a big bubble nest.
lvandert is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:32 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.