Betta Fish Care  
Go Back   Betta Fish and Betta Fish Care > Betta Fish Care
Check out the eBook Betta Fish Care Made Easy
betta fish

Old 04-17-2012, 08:05 PM   #1 
LorRenee

Could heater get too hot?

Hi everyone!

I'm new to the neighborhood, but I'm hoping y'all will be able to help me. I've recently obtained a betta who loves his warm tank (who wouldn't!), but he stays at the office where I work. Last night I didn't have his heater on overnight and came into the office at 8 this morning to find a cold tank (72 F) and an unhappy fish. Eek! He wouldn't look at me for a while until it got back up to 78 F and he perked up.

So I figured I'd leave his heater on this time. Now, I work from 8am-5pm and he's at the office all by himself until I'm back in for my shift.

I use the Hydor Slim Heater (the small circular one) and throughout the day it seemed to stay under 80. I'm slightly worried that it'll simply continue to heat the water up to an uncomfortable temperature and I'll come back to a lifeless fish. (Granted, I'm also guessing the office got a bit chilly overnight, so having the heater on may help prevent the temp from dropping too low? I know I'm always walking in wondering why it's so cold and have to get a coffee to warm up.)

For those who use these heaters, what are your experiences with them?

Any other suggestions would be helpful, thank you!

Edit: He has a 2 1/2 gallon tank with no filter (yet. Still deciding if I'll get one.)

Last edited by LorRenee; 04-17-2012 at 08:09 PM.
LorRenee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2012, 08:06 PM   #2 
lilyth88

What kind of heater do you have? Generally the good ones turn off when they reach a certain temperature. Either an internal one or one you set.
lilyth88 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2012, 08:08 PM   #3 
Mo