Betta Fish Care  
Go Back   Betta Fish and Betta Fish Care > Betta Fish Bowls, Habitats, and Accessories
Check out the eBook Betta Fish Care Made Easy
betta fish

Old 04-21-2012, 06:43 AM   #1 
jack2

Smile How to heat a small tank?

Hi, I have a small 1 gallon tank ( I know this is too small, but I am a student so I can't afford a bigger tank at the moment). In the summer when it was hot, I didn't need a heater but approaching winter I think I need to heat the tank, however I can't find anything that can heat the small tank I have! Any ideas?
Thanks
jack2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2012, 07:47 AM   #2 
Mo

Heating is one of th main reasons I don't appreciate small tanks. And have virtually no use for them at all.......there are quite a few optional heaters that have a quite good use in smaller tanks around 1 gallon, that can also be used in larger tanks..........I would get a tetra 50 watt submersible non-adjustable heater, this heater works magnificently and can be used in a larger tank when you upgrade him. The maximum tank Size I would put it in is about 5 gallons though......another magnificent heater that will work quite effeciently, and effective is the hydor mini heater........just as a rule of thumb, most heaters go by the rule of 1 watt per liter....in US measurements there are about 4 liters in a gallon but approximately 3.7 liters in a gallon. For a one gallon I would use about double that for ensured heating due to there small size and capacity so using about an 8 watt heater should suffice so if you coul find another one that would be great

Last edited by Mo; 04-21-2012 at 07:53 AM.
Mo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2012, 07:56 AM   #3 
Cattitude

Depends what sort of tank you have - shape, what it's made of, does it have gravel, etc.