Betta Fish Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm new to the Betta world after being a fish keeper for over 30 years. I have always been into breeding my fish but not for show... Just as another level to the hobby. As my son and I are getting more serious about form and finnage we are wanting to start with good specimens. While we are very new and are reading and trying to educate ourselves we are finding one hard component to find. That is a male with proper anal fin length. I know the ideal matches the bottom of the caudal but most of what we are looking at... Crown tail and Half moon seem to be longer... In some cases much longer. So here is my question... Is it easy to. "breed it" shorter with a short fin female? Or... How big of an issue is a slightly longer anal. Thanks in advance for the help!

·
Premium Member
22,700 Posts
Hello there!

I would honestly find the female you can to breed him to, a regular long fin with as short of an anal fin as you can find; they are out there but it will just take some time to find it. Breeding to a short fin will give you loads of messy fins and likely you'll only end up shortening the caudal than you will the anal. You may get a couple that are the ideal form, if you do go that route then you can continue on with those fishes and breed to long fin again to keep the fins longer once more.

Have you seen AquaBid and/or ebay for fish purchases? There are some very desirable females on there time to time! Can be a little pricey to ship safely in the winter time but it can be very much worth it if you want to get serious in forms ^_^

Oh and one last note, the majority of the fry get their form from their females; fins specifically so that's why you want the best female you can find!

·
Registered
3,355 Posts