Betta Fish Forum banner

1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi all!

I'm new to proper betta care and my little guy, Steve, deserves a bigger, better, cleaner tank. So I bought the Fluval Spec V, silk plants, and three different bottles of Fluval tank conditioning stuff, alongside an API Freshwater kit. I have rinsed all items, and I cannot find ANYWHERE a step-by-step guide to doing my first cycle with Fluval tanks.

Can I include a piece of decor from my 2 gallon un-cycled Koller tank and some of Steve's "dirty" water to introduce the necessary ammonia, or should I use the aquarium grade ammonia I also purchased instead? Do I add water dechlorinator before adding ammonia? Do I add the Fluval enhancer (bacteria) when I begin my first cycle?

Please help - I know I could get another fish, but I'm rather attached to my little guy and I'd like to give him a better life as soon as I can. He's doing okay, and has done for a month, in his 2 gallon tank which was never cycled, but conditioned. I am doing 80% water changes on that for now and hoping to keep him stable there until his new 5 gal is cycled. Please advise!

·
Super Moderator
18,362 Posts
Welcome to the Forum!

Here is this Forum's tutorial on fish-in cycling. If you use SeaChem Prime you are set to go.

I've never fishless cycled so I cannot answer the other questions. I have, however, always fish-in cycled and never harmed any fish. So you can cycle Steve's new tank with him in residence. No need to add any of the old water.

https://www.bettafish.com/30-betta-fish-care/507585-cycling-two-sentence-tutorial.html

·
Registered
643 Posts
Welcome to the forum!