Betta Fish Forum banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello everyone, this smart lil fish managed to get into college

I'm a college freshman and my roommate surprised me by bringing back a betta fish that she got for free from the student union. He's a red male veiltail named North West (after Kim and Kanye's baby... roommate's idea not mine. I call him Nort). Each fish came with an empty jam jar for a tank and some gravel, food, and water conditioner.

A lot of other people's fish died soon soon after, probably since a JAM JAR is not really a livable environment. I hopped on Amazon and bought a 1 gal filtered Minibow with the small budget I have, and I have a silk plant coming in the mail. My parents are also sending me a few tank decorations from the fish we owned many years ago. I've been frequenting some threads on this board and I understand that 1 gallon is not adequate for a betta fish, but the room we're living in is the human equivalent of the betta's jam jar so there's very limited space. My roomie admires him but doesn't do much in the way of care taking, so it kinda feel like the responsibility for his wellbeing has been thrust upon me. I would really prefer to keep this fella healthy and happy for as long as possible.
While some other unfortunate fishy souls have been languishing in their recycled condiment containers, Nort has been quite happy in his new tank. He is always darting around or surfing the filter's current, occasionally flaring at his reflection in the tank. He likes to follow my face and nip at my fingers. He's no puppy, but he's got more personality than I expected! I made sure to condition his water and feed him on a regular schedule (2 in the morning, 1 afternoon, 2 evening), though he always looks hungry.