Betta Fish Forum banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
14 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey!
I’m new to betta care and really fish care in general but after my goldfish of 2 years died I really wanted a new buddy. I would really love to welcome a betta into my tank but if at all possible there’s a few questions I need answered. First of, companions. I know betta usually live on their own but are there any other fish I could have in the tank? I’ve been told many different things by many people including, tetras, mollies, platies, etc. I have a ten gallon tank already cycled and set up and have a bristle nose pleco and a single nerite snail already in there. Thank you!!

·
RusselltheShihTzu
20,200 Posts
Welcome to the Forum!

Almost anything smaller than the Betta in a heavily-planted tank. Unlike Goldies, Betta do not do well in open tanks.

Find what you like and post here and people can let you know where they've had experience. Whatever you get, you will need at least 10 for a proper shoal. And what have can depend on whether your get a long- or short-finned Betta.

·
Registered
53 Posts
One of my bettas lives with a bristlenose and five harlequin rasboras, a kuhli loach, and lots of pond and ramshorn snails... my other one lives with an albino bristlenose, 6 cherry shrimp, pond and ramshorns and a spiky marsh snail. Big tanks, lots of plants,
no problems with anyone fighting or hurting anyone so far :)

·
Registered
14 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
One of my bettas lives with a bristlenose and five harlequin rasboras, a kuhli loach, and lots of pond and ramshorn snails... my other one lives with an albino bristlenose, 6 cherry shrimp, pond and ramshorns and a spiky marsh snail. Big tanks, lots of plants,
no problems with anyone fighting or hurting anyone so far :)