Betta Fish Forum banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello! I'm new to owning bettas and have only had my betta, Sir Rulean, for less than a week. I did a 50% water change on Wednesday and he has been doing great. However, for the past couple days, he has been swimming more frantically. I don't know if it is because I have classes Monday through Thursday, so he's not used to me being there the entire day. I always make sure I talk to him and spend time with him when I'm not in class. Today, he also seems to be breathing a bit heavily.

He's also building a bubble nest, which I know is a good sign, but I'm still a bit worried.

·
Registered
6,727 Posts
Can you tell me a bit more about your set up?

What is your tank size?
Do you have a filter?
Is your tank heated?
What is the temperature of your tank?
How often are you planning to do water changes?
What food are you feeding them?

You should also test your water. If you cannot buy the API freshwater master test kit then I suggest that you bring your water to a pet store and have it tested. Petco and Petsmart do this for free. Make sure you ask for EXACT numbers. They will most likely give you the "everything is fine" answer but ask them for the exact numbers. Also ask to look at the test strip yourself.

Also just so you know, bubble nests mean nothing. Bettas make them for all sorts of reasons - because they are bored, because they are stressed, because they are marking their territory, because they are ready to breed, because they just want to. Even very sick bettas will make bubble nests. Some bettas will also never make them. Basically bubble nests are nothing but cute. You should not use them to evaluate the health of your fish.

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
I currently have a 1 gallon tank (I plan on upgrading. This one was a gift from my mom).