Betta Fish Forum banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
So, as the subject implies, I'm a complete newbie to the 'Betta Life' :) Last night I rescued a beautiful blue crowntail male betta from PetSmart (I seriously wanted to cry seeing them all in little cups!!!) After buying the initial 1.8 gal tank (and THEN educating myself on standard tank sizes, etc) I understand that I need to upgrade, but I figure while I figure this out in the first month or so, it will do until I can swap it out for a larger tank. I'm all for caring for pets as they should be treated!

I bought a Rosette Sword plant and housed that next to my (quirky yet cute) Spongebob Squarepants pineapple. The pineapple tank ornament is small enough to not take over the tank, but also provides Carl (my betta) with a great hiding spot (he seemed to enjoy it for bed time last night). I also have a moss ball in the tank for him to play with.

So I have a few concerns based upon the many posts/articles I have read in the past few days about Betta... hoping one of my more veteran Betta care-takers can assist me with debunking or correcting my mistake and help improve the life of my Betta.

1) My betta isn't super active as I have seen others speak of. Granted, I brought him home less than 24-hours ago so I'm trying to allow him time to get acclimated, but he seems to hide a lot, rather than swim out in the open. I was unsure if that was because he was uncomfortable or what.

2) Carl hasn't gone up to the Moss Ball once, so I'm unsure if that's something he just isn't familiar with or doesn't enjoy....

3) He has been lying in the bottom of the tank (behind the plant or the pineapple) or lying on top of the pump where it sits in the water (which is close to the surface of the water)... It is dark back there, but then again... it is my pump!! I am worried his fin will get caught or something...