Betta Fish Forum banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey guys, I like to first admit I’m a beginner and really seeking for help! =( my betta is a week old in it’s new tank. And has been looking rather ‘lifeless’. For the lack of better word. It’s just been floating around and sitting on the leaf of a plant I have in there. But good news is that it’s actually eating well. responding at times especially when I hover my fingers over. It’s eating fine but doesn’t go around looking for it. I have to drop the pallet in front of it before it quickly swims to take a bite. Is it alright? I know it suffered probably some trauma reaching here (delivery took 3 days). But I suppose it should acclimatize since it has been a week? I notice some part of its fins has fallen when I changed the water.. could be from the injury during the delivery. Is it normal for it to be that way? I haven’t owned a betta since I was a kid and This time I wanna have a better environment for it. Help! Thank you..

Housing:
How many gallons is your tank? 7 liters (I know it’s small. It’s on my office desk)
Does it have a filter? Used to I removed it as it was bothering it too much. Just hid away from it in the plant all of the time.
Does it have a heater? Yes
What temperature is your tank? 27 degrees
Does your tank have an air stone or other type of aeration? No
Does your Betta have tank mates? What kind? No

Food:
What food brand do you use? Regular betta pellets
Do you feed flakes or pellets? Pellets
Freeze-dried? Dried
How often do you feed your Betta? How much? 4-5 pellets everyday with 2 day weekend rest.

Maintenance:
Before your Betta became ill how often did you perform a water change?
Just did once today
What percentage of water did you change?
30%
What is the source of your water? Tap, left sitting out for over 48 hours
Do you vacuum the substrate or just dip out water?