Betta Fish Forum banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
I have a heavily planted 10 gallon tank that I am cycling for a few weeks, and I'd like to start a soriority in it. Would it be best to add 5 or 6 female bettas in such a set up? I will have a panda cory in the tank as well.

·
Registered
277 Posts
I wouldn’t try a sorority in a 10 gallon, it just isn’t enough room for each girl to have her own territory. I can’t say for sure I’m by no means a fish expert but 10 gallons might not handle the bioload for that many fish. Unless all your females were tank raised together I’d also quarantine each and everyone of them before putting them all in the same tank. It’s so sad losing fish because one ended up over stressed and sick. Even if you put all quarantined and healthy females together, if one female is bullied or they just can’t handle the stress they will get sick. Just something to think about... not saying you shouldn’t try, just have a backup plan if you need to separate them in the long run.
research research research. So many stories about sorority tanks on the internet, the good the bad and the ugly ugly lol.

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Thank you so much! I have been researching for weeks and many pages say 5 is good because its an odd number and they get their pecking order set up. Also, i tried planting it as muy as possible for them and a sponge filter, and i do have a back up plan for them. And they were raised together so im hoping the fighting will be less.

·
Registered
277 Posts
awesome! Sounds like you got it all covered! Best of luck to you!
Have some meds on hand just in case, the unexpected always happens to me LOL since I’m in quarantine myself it’s not like I can just run to the store for stuff at the moment (sad face)( laughy face)

·
Registered
661 Posts
The whole deal with odd numbers is not true, that’s for sled dogs not fish pecking orders. Or maybe I should say it’s superstition.