Betta Fish Forum banner
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi all, I started a new tank and was surprised to find eggs on day 2. I wasn’t even done planting my tank. The eggs have hatched on the end of the 3rd day. Took mom out of the tank and dad is tirelessly picking up the falling fry and spitting them back at the nest. My local fish store sold me hikari first bites to begin feeding when they are free swimming. I know microworms would be best for now but I was unprepared. When the fry mature some more, should i reintroduce mom? Do I leave dad in there too? I will watch closely if he seems to turn on the fry. I’m excited but also feeling the pressure 😅 This is my first time experiencing this. Thank goodness for Google…
Water Liquid Automotive lighting World Underwater

Automotive tire Tire Tape measure Wood Gas

·
Super Moderator
2,086 Posts
Hi @alika! Welcome to the forum and congratulations on your successful spawning! @indjo is the breeding expert, but I thought I would give you some of what I know. I recommend checking out the stickies in the breeding part of the forum, if you haven't already.

You will want to take dad out once the fry are free-swimming. You will also want to keep the male and female in separate tanks or a divided tank, until/unless you intend to breed again. Keeping them together will most likely result in the death of one or both. You will also want to set up a brine shrimp hatchery soon.

Keep us updated on the progress of the fry! And good luck!

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Hi @alika! Welcome to the forum and congratulations on your successful spawning! @indjo is the breeding expert, but I thought I would give you some of what I know. I recommend checking out the stickies in the breeding part of the forum, if you haven't already.