Betta Fish Forum banner

1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello all!

I am brand new to the Betta Fish family, just bought my first little guy today because I fell in love with him at the pet store. :-D Unfortunately at the time I believed that they would be happy in a small bowl at room temperature as long as you changed the water once a week.. After many hours reading the lovely guides found on here I realized that my new baby needs a lot more TLC than that.

I have had my new betta for about 12 hours now, and have done nothing so far besides feed him his evening meal of 2-3 pellets (about eye size) and have him in the warmest room in the house. I have not yet done anything new to the water (he is in the container he came in) and am shopping today for a tank and supplies. I already have a high protein pellet (aqueon betta food) and a water conditioner (top fin) for ammonia, chloramine and chlorine. My main concern is getting him set up into a healthy environment as soon as possible.

Combining what I have learned tonight from many of the guides provided here (and my limited budget) I am listing what I plan to, and would appreciate any and all suggestions:

1) I plan on purchasing a 1-2 gallon tank, no filter, no lights (but with lid to prevent jumping). From reviews of the "kits" provided at this size (and at my budget) they had a lot of problems with the filter creating too much water current or breaking down easily, or not having a good light source. Therefore I am thinking that I will want to start without a filter, changing the water more often if needed until I can do more research into a better solution. An additional worry is if BB will be able to thrive in a filter-less environment. I am also considering not lighting my tank at all. My very small studio has multiple skylights and is brightly lit during the day. I was thinking the regular day/night cycle of the sun might be a decent light solution for now.