Betta Fish Forum banner

1 - 20 of 36 Posts

·
Registered
692 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey everyone~!

I've been skimming the site everyday, doing my research and taking notes since I want to become a good betta breeder. I don't even own any bettas right now:lol: Some day I hope to have my own line going, but that's a different story!

Because of the whole "I wanna be an awesome breeder" attitude, I was thinking that maybe I should start out with breeding a different type of fish species. I have no experience breeding any fish. Ever. And the only way to get that is by going for it since I'm more of a hands-on learner.

Do you think it would be a good idea? Or should I just stay focused on bettas for now?

If it seems like a good idea, anyone recommend a good fish to start with? If not then I will go back to studying. x3

P.s- I hope this thread is in the right spot!

·
Registered
1,121 Posts
Yes this is in the right place as far as I can tell.
On the question of other fish, I started of with platys as they are quite easy to breed and it gives you the experience of raising fry, I think a couple of platy spawns, or even guppy spawns would be a good experience before trying to breed bettas as they are considerably harder to breed, the best thing you can do it read read and read some more!You can never prepare yourself enough, also you need to think about food cultures and research those for feeding any fry, I do daily 25% water changes for all my fry.You need to know this is a LOT of work, from one single spawn bettas can produce up to 600 fry (in my experience, someone else may have had more!) you need a massive grow out tank, seperation jars for the males. I'm not trying to put you off I just think people need to know what they're letting themselves in for! I have to say though there is nothing quite like raising a baby and seeing it grow up into adulthood!Good luck, I hope I helped!

·
Registered
692 Posts
Discussion Starter #3 (Edited)