Betta Fish Forum banner

1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I recently moved towns with my two boys. I've had my royal blue veil tail (Tin) for months now, recently got a multicolored half moon (Ran) the other week. The half moon concerned me because of course he's been living in a cup on a shelf for who knows how long. He looked rather heavy, almost 1.5x the size of my veil, I think he was bloated. Also no sign of excrement or scale flake at the bottom of his cup. I took him home and fed him a bit of a soft unshelled pea a day later.
Fast forward a bit, and I have the half moon living in a one gallon bowl because a dorm room can only hold so much. His appetite was healthy despite being very skittish to swim to the top for pellets.

In his tank, I used this rock that I've never used with my bettas before, I'm not sure what the material is, though it's heavy.
Ran died overnight, unfortunately. I'm disappointed with myself, he was a beautiful betta that I was already so fond of. I don't know the cause of death, and I wonder if it's the rock. I don't want to risk losing Tin as well so I won't be using these rocks for his tank.

Do you guys think this is the cause?

·
Registered
3,838 Posts
I am sorry for your loss. That's probably not the cause but since you think it could be where did the rock come from?

One gallon is smaller space for a betta but if you did enough water changes it can work and it is better than a cup which can't be heated. Some might say it's not enough but I've learned dorm rooms can be very limited. I discovered my niece was keeping her fish in a tiny cube in her dorm room because technically that's all that was allowed. I didn't even know she had a betta. So an upgrade to a gallon (which she had to hide) was great for the fish. Clearly you had good intentions and if you tell us more about the bloating, his behavior and such we might be able to tell you more.

·
Registered
4,980 Posts