Betta Fish Forum banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Super Moderator
18,877 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
One thing that really bugs me is when sellers tout something as "Show Quality" or "Competition Grade" and what they are selling is not. It is false advertising but I like to believe it is because they don't really know what makes a Betta Show Quality or Competition Grade.

Anyhow, I saw a HM thus advertised that:

1. Is not unique or HTF

2. Has a stair step dorsal

3. Has split and pointed ventrals

4. Has a dorsal that points back instead of forward or straight up

5. Has an anal fin that is longer than the caudal fin

6. Has reduced webbing in its dorsal

7. Has a split (or chunk missing) from its caudal

8. Does not have a 180-degree spread

Most people who don't show or breed don't know structure in Betta; I only started learning within the last year or two. I am someone who showed dogs for years so structure fascinates me. I'm learning about and am aware of Betta structure because I like knowing; not because I intend to breed or show.

Despite knowing structure, I buy my Betta based on color and if they have a certain "something" that draws me. I don't care beans if they are "Competition Grade/Show Quality." I don't care if they have a stair-step dorsal or it points backward or a 180-degree spread.

What started this Chat Rant is noting all of the sellers who charge, to me, outrageous prices for less than what they are claiming.

If you are interested in structure, I suggest you go to https://www.ibcbettas.org/upcoming-shows/standards/ and download the IBC Exhibition Standards. You have to scroll through the "How to Host a Show," etc., to get to the actual standards.

·
Super Moderator
2,923 Posts