Betta Fish Forum banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Hi, I'm new to the hobby and just bought a 15 gallon tank to prep the water and plants for my future betta. I've read a lot about betta tank mates and still confused.
I came across the laser corydoras (cw10) and I kind of liked it.. would they (4corydoras) be ok with betta in this tank size? And how big will they be?
(Sorry if I wrote something wrong,I'm not a native speaker)
Thanks in advanced! :)

·
Registered
1,050 Posts
I'm not familiar with that specific type of cory, but I do know that most prefer being in a group of 6 or more. So I'd plan to get more than just four, if you can.

Looks like you have sand on the bottom of the tank, which is great since corydoras have "whiskers" that are easily hurt by rough gravel. I am not sure if you're adding more plants and decorations, but right now your tank is fairly bare looking. I would definitely add more if you can, and include some hiding places. Many types of cory are shy and like places to hide, and bettas love having lots of plants to swim among, too.

Your betta may or may not harass the corys, there isn't any way to know ahead of time if they will get along. Some will ignore them completely and others will chase or even attack. As far as I know, the corydoras shouldn't be dangerous towards the betta, however- they are usually shy and peaceful.

I would assume that they will get to be about two, maybe three inches long. A 15g tank may be cramped, but yours looks like it has a pretty big square footprint that would give them a good amount of space to swim. So they may be okay in your tank. But I suggest you try to find a page with specific information about the cw10 variety to double check recommended tank size.

·
RusselltheShihTzu
21,419 Posts
Welcome to the Forum!

Your English is just fine. 😊