Does this tank work?

• Yes

• no

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi im new to the fishkeeping world and the betta forums:)
Over the past few weeks ive done a ton of research for the new tank im getting for my bday!
I have brought a 105 litre (68 cm length,35 cm depth and 51 cm height) rectangle tank.
After all the research and visits to my local pet store pets at home I would like to keep these fish.
a male betta (don't know what exact type because they are constantly selling and bringing in new bettas)
5-6 albino corydoras (I have read they do well with bettas)
10-12 harlequin rasboras (I have also read these do ok and I am happy to go down a few if you think there is too many but I read they like big groups!)
1-2 yellow rabit snails
1-2 Vampire shrimp or giant African shrimp (now this is the one I was most unsure on because shrimp do well with bettas however these filter feed and bettas like slow water however would a compromise work? also I am prepared to feed my shrimp extra if hes not filter feeding as should be)
I have worked out a feeding schedule for all so I have done a fair bit of research but it be nice to hear your guys opinion as you most likely know more than me !)
thanks for taking your time to read this!

·
RusselltheShihTzu
20,258 Posts
Hi! And Welcome to the Forum!

Stocking sounds good except for a few of things:

Betta-based community tanks need to be heavily planted (silk if okay). This gives the Betta places to go for "quiet time." The saying in Bettadom is "If you can see your Betta at a glance the tank doesn't have enough plants." Rule of thumb is 75% planted in a community tank.

Do you intend to have live plants? If so, Rabbit Snails will eat many of them; especially small and young plants. I would look for something else. Trapdoor Snails are neat. Mystery Snails come in a plethora of interesting colors.