Betta Fish Forum banner

1 - 20 of 23 Posts

·
Registered
22 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am a college freshman and I brought my betta with me. He's been with me for about a year and three months. I actually got him on my last day of school. I had just completed my aquaculture class and was inspired to get a fish and care for it. My teacher suggest I start with a betta because they're more hardy than others. So I was at the pet store thinking about getting this gorgeous red one that looked like he was wearing an evening gown, when I noticed another betta at the top shelf, almost out of reach. I pull him down and his container is marked "Elephant Ear betta, blind, 50% off." He didn't look very good, sitting at the bottom of the tank surrounded by very old and nasty looking betta pellets, his eyes almost completely white. I almost cried at the way he looked, he was probably barely alive. So I got him and brought him home. I already had a tank sitting there ready; I had prepared it a week earlier.

His health has greatly improved since I got him. His eyes are no longer milky and his fins have somewhat grown back. He makes bubble nests almost every day. I have him in a .5g tank with no filtration system so I change his water every day and do a full tank clean once a week. He refuses to eat pellets, so I give him flakes (which he loves) twice a day, and blood worms, mysis, or daphnia every other. I have been very careful at what fake plants I get, making sure they are either silk or have smooth edges that won't tear his fins. I also just got him a moss/algea ball for his tank that he likes to hide behind and sit on. It has actually helped a little with how clean the tank is, but it doesn't change how often I change the water or clean the tank.