Betta Fish Forum banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
399 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
So I'm still relatively new to the aquarium world, so this maybe silly. Driftwood. Can I uses any ol'driftwood? I live 2 minutes from Provo Canyon and could easily find some. I've hear of boiling to get so something out of it, would that be an ok thing to do? If getting any driftwood is not ok, where is the best place to get some? I think i saw some at my lfs but it had a large price tag on it. :/

·
Premium Member
22,700 Posts
You can use any old driftwood as long as it's actually driftwood and not just rotted logs or branches. :) yes the boiling technique is good but if you get it from the wild I would keep it in a bucket for a week or so in regular hot tap water, change the water everyday. Not just to release the tannins but in case any parasites decided they wanted to hitch hike ;-)

·
Registered
399 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Yay!!! Now I have an activity for me and my 3 tag-a-longs aka my niece and nephews I'm watching.

·
Premium Member
22,700 Posts
Ahaha yup! Sure would be fun! Which reminds me...I've got to go Kayaking to see what I can dig up from my local river :-D

Oh that reminds me too! Careful where you dig things up, sometimes you can be trespassing and not even know it! It's also illegal many places to take things/plants from rivers/lakes/ponds etc. But if you know the people or whoever owns the land, then you should be all set :-D

·
Registered
399 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
Good to know. We unfortunately didn't go tonight. We went bowling. My sister had a living social deal. Lol hopefully tomorrow.

·
Premium Member
22,700 Posts