Betta Fish Forum banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
32 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Hello! I am very very new to planted tanks and I have been researching for hours with many things very unclear to me about the process.
I haven't been able to find a step by step or beginners guide on how to set up my (not NPT) planted tank so I have so many questions. Any advice or answers are HUGELY appreciated. ^.^

What I have:
I have these supplies but have not begun putting it together. I will completely set the tank up before I purchase the betta.
5.5 gallon tank with 16 inch hood+led lights, 25w heater, filter, thermometer, air pump+air stone, pebble-like rock gravel, plastic plants+misc decor, Prime water conditioner, bottle of 10% ammonium hydroxide, hikari pellets, API Master Test Kit. What else do I need to buy?

~Do I have to fully cycle my tank before I put my live plants in? Or can I set up the plants before I cycle the tank?
~What are the optimal water conditioners or fertilizers that you recommend?
~What plants would be the best for a beginner like myself? Which plants work the best with rock gravel?
~Specific instructions for certain plant species?
~Is it necessary for me to purchase snails or shrimp in addition to my betta? If so, what are the responsibilities that come with doing that?
~My tank kit came with a 16 inch hood with led lights, no listed wattage. Do I need to purchase any different types of lights to plant my tank?
*Once I have everything established with the fish, what is the required maintenance(water changes, vacuuming, etc) that I need to perform regularly?*

Im extremely sorry for the insane amounts of questions I have, and I know that my amateurism is annoying :( If I can get answers to at least some of these questions it would help me very much. Thank you for your time.

·
Registered
318 Posts
What I have:
I have these supplies but have not begun putting it together. I will completely set the tank up before I purchase the betta.