Betta Fish Forum banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello!

Having received some excellent tips from this community on what and how much to feed my office Betta, Max, I have recently switched to feeding him Fluval Bug Bites. He enjoys them very much, but he is not able to eat all the little pieces before they settle in to the plants and substrate. With his pellet food I was able to just scoop out any pellets he didn't eat but removing this food is much less straightforward. As a newbie I'm not entirely sure what to do about these tiny uneaten particles or how best to clean them out without disturbing the live plants in his tank. Any advice would be much appreciated!

Additionally, Max's snail buddy, Fibonacci, was looking a little pale and pitted, and I had read that this meant he needed more calcium and that I should add egg shells to the tank for a little while. I did, and I removed them after, but since then I've had a pearly slick on top of the water. I remove it every day and I've changed the water a couple of times this week. Does anyone have thoughts on how to handle this now, how to prevent it in the future, and how to get Fib his calcium without hurting the water quality?

Thank you!

·
Registered
969 Posts
I feed bug bites as well and I found that if you put a small amount in at a time and wait until hes got it all to add more it works, but my boy is very food motivated it may be different with max. If you are worried about his calcium intake then you can buy a snail food with extra calcium (Thats what I did when I had snails) or you can buy calcium blocks for snails (Ive never tried this method).

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Thanks! So far I find that they're sinking before he can get them and then he seems to have trouble getting them out of the plants and substrate. Have you ever had anything similar happen?

·
Registered
969 Posts