Betta Fish Forum banner

1 - 20 of 30 Posts

·
Registered
781 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Twice now, we have awoken to find what appears to be a bubble nest in Sookie's tank. Before anyone asks, no, there is no possibility she is a male.

That is Sookie.

·
Registered
781 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
how do you know for sure shes a female? im not second guessing you im just curious. Im new to bettas :) and ive only ever had males. the only way i know how to tell the difference is tail length haha

Her fins down below her belly (not sure what they're called) are a lot shorter than a males and she has an egg spot. And Gandalf tried to hump her when they had a divided tank and he got onto her side.

·
Registered
781 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
the anal fin is the long one, the ventral fins are the little ones by her gills. I dont think ive ever seen a girl with such a long caudal fin. but hopefully someone else can help you figure it out. Im sorry to say i wont be any help haha

Caudal fin?

·
Registered
2,532 Posts
Her fins down below her belly (not sure what they're called) are a lot shorter than a males and she has an egg spot. And Gandalf tried to hump her when they had a divided tank and he got onto her side.
LOL! "he tried to hump her" made me giggle. Females can blow bubble nests. It's not normal but they can and do.

·
Registered
781 Posts
Discussion Starter #7
LOL! "he tried to hump her" made me giggle. Females can blow bubble nests. It's not normal but they can and do.
I didn't know how to put it more delicately. He squeezed onto her side and... shenanigans ensued.

I really highly doubt Sookie is a male. She is a "giant" so I guess her fins would be larger than the average female.

·
Registered
2,532 Posts
yeah. Unless she's got a giant beard and tried to kill your other male, which by the sounds of it, she didn't then its a girl. They do blow bubble nests though. I've heard as some going so far as to put their own unfertilized eggs in the nest

·
Registered