Betta Fish Forum banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
This is my first time owning a betta fish and it's been a few weeks since I have had my betta, Elaine. Some concerning things have been popping up lately:

1. Her belly is white
2. Red stripes are appearing, even though her body is a purple/blue color.
3. She isn't as active, often hangs out near the top of the water.
4. Doesn't make her air bubble nest.

I have read into the white belly and think it could possibly be stress or I'm over feeding her and the stripes could be an indicator for inflamed gills. I was wondering if anyone knew what was going on?

Information
Living Conditions:
Elaine lives in a 1.5 gallon tank, has one plastic plant, and has filtration. I have two heaters in her tank and it's usually at a consistent 79 degrees Fahrenheit (26 degrees Celsius).

Feeding:
I feed her sometimes with standard betta pellets and freeze dried blood worms. I fed her at some point this flake food made for betta, but shortly learned flake food can harm her so I stopped. She gets fed one pellet some days and 2 blood worms other days. I do one one or two days without feeding just to see what happens.

Thank you!

·
Registered
908 Posts
1. I wouldn't worry too much about the white belly, when my female gets eggy hers is white as well :) Darn piggy will sometimes look like she swallowed a golf ball after she eats!

2. where are the stripes located? can you post a pic?

3. How often do you change the water and how much of it do you change?

4. Generally only males blow bubble nests, and even then it's not guaranteed they will, I know males who never have. Occasionally a female will but that's rare.

edited to add:

Do the stripes look like this? (up near the face?)

not my pic, found on google

if so, that's a normal part of the gills (I forget the exact part/name), I remember wondering the same thing and someone here said that's normal.

·
Registered
2,023 Posts