Betta Fish Forum banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello, I am new to betta, and learning. I killed my first betta through ignorance and over feeding. I have a new betta, named Steve Carrell cause he's a silver fox. Lol He's only been here a few days. The aquarium is 2.5 gallons with the gentlest filter I could find and a heater keeping the tank about 80 degrees. I turn his light and filter off every night to give him a break.
I noticed this morning he's started a bubble nest and there's a fine film on top of the water. Is that ok? He seems happy enough, although not fond of his pellets. He spits them out(they aren't too big, i cut them in half first) and much prefers worms. Again, is THAT ok? I will be replacing the plastic plant this week for something softer because the plastic might tear his fins? Please don't crucify me, I am trying to learn.
Thank you. Video attached.

·
Registered
1,338 Posts
Well no video, and No we would not crucify you. Welcome to the forum. We can not hold you in contempt for the death of your first betta. it seems as though you have learned enough to come to the right place and ask for help. That we will gladly do. First the sheen on the water could be from a number of things. From ;uncleaned plastic plants to the oil given off from the food you feed. It's no big deal so don't stress. First it will disappear when you do water changes. Seeing that the tank is new and it hasn't cycled yet Your water changes Until the tank is cycled should be every other day unless the ammonia, Nitrites, and nitrate is higher than acceptable levels. (water changes should be 25%)