Betta Fish Forum banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
So I'm a college student (surprise surprise). I'm not sure what to do with my betta fish over the 19 days that I will be away from my dorm room.

I have read both in these forums and on various other websites that it is safe to leave a betta for two weeks, but I'm not sure if its safe to leave him for that long.

I will be driving home tomorrow (I should have thought about this earlier, I know), and home is about 6 or 7 hours away. I live in Canada, so it is cold outside right now, so I understand the temperature concerns and am able to deal with the temperature if I do choose to bring him home with me. I will be a passenger in the vehicle, if that helps.

Based on the amount of time I have between now and tomorrow morning, should I try to bring him home with me?

·
Registered
606 Posts
I think the number one question here would be how big your tank is. I have three bettas, all in 2.5 gallon tanks, and I am taking them home with me for a similar amount of time, because (well, a lot of reasons, one of my boys tailbites, the other has separation anxiety, but the pertinent reason here) I don't feel comfortable leaving them in 2.5 gallon tanks without them getting ammonia poisoning, or having all the water evaporate out on me.

I would also say that 19 days seems like a bit of a long stretch to leave your fish alone, regardless of tank size. A lot can happen in just a weekend gone... and a LOT could happen in 19 days gone.

Just my opinions really (also a college student here, in Michigan, so also dealing with the cold too, haha). I would vote yay to bringing him home with you though.

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #3