Betta Fish Forum banner

1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello,I'm new to the Betta community! I know the basics and I just got my first Betta for my 18th birthday about 2-3 weeks ago.

1662692_650131938388434_6144415972922183264_n.jpg

As you can see he is a tad beat up,but that's because the pet store I got him from had him in a tank with little fin nippers :-(. But otherwise he is active and eats well.

Anyway, I will be going to Mechacon in New Orleans this Friday and won't be back 'till Sunday afternoon. My father wont listen to me on betta rules and care and treats him like a simple fish,my mother is the same way.
Now I know they can go a while without eating;So I plan on feeding him twice Thursday(plus a bloodworm) and once before I leave Friday. That should hold him off 'till I return.
However my concern is this: he is in a 3 gallon 360 aquarium and the filter (shown in the picture) produces a huge wall of micro bubbles that cover the top of the water. Sometimes they pop creating an opening for the fish to go up for air;but most of the time its just a thick wall of bubbles that I have to get rid of with my finger. I asked my sister to go in my room and pop them every now and then and not to leave until you see him get air.She agreed to;but I don't think she'll stay 'till he breaths.
Do you think he will be okay until I get home?

·
Premium Member
22,700 Posts
He can breathe through the bubbles, that's not an issue. Also tell her not to feed him while you're gone; best that he doesn't eat and create too much ammonia while your gone but yeah, he'll be just fine!

·
Registered
121 Posts