Betta Fish Forum banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
18 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm new to having fish and I'm trying to figure out some good low light plants to put in small betta tanks (small being 1-3 gallons). Any suggestions would be awesome!

·
Registered
79 Posts
Java Fern, Wisteria, Anubias and Crypts generally do well in low light and are fairly hardy too. Java moss and other mosses work fairly well too.

·
Registered
2,352 Posts
water sprite, and duck weed do fine aswell. I also have water lettuce that seems to be fine with one 6500k bulb in my 5 gal

·
Registered
5,270 Posts
ferns: java fern, needle leaf or narrow leaf java fern, african water fern (aka bolbitis fern) phipine java fern (suppsoedly gets the tallest). Regualr java fern is the most common but its not the only one!

anubias (omg so many use to have a huge collection of these!): coffefolia, broad leaf, angustifolia, afezelii, lancolata, minimia, hastifolia, congensis (aka heterophylla), barterie, nana, nana var narrow leaf, stardust, nana var petite (also just called petite), micro (omg so damn cute and tiny but hard to find), gold, marle, snowwhite/snow/snowflake (multiple names for same thing, mostly white leaves)
most expensive and harder to find are the bottom 4, the snow white ones can go for over $100 for just a few leaves. Nana on the other hand is typically $5.

Both java fern and anubias are rhizome based plants (its a horizontal stick taht roots and leaves grow from) DO NOT EVER BURY THIS it will rot the rhizome and kill the plant. Most people tie these plants to decor/rock/wood, roots will eventually attach themselves to that item (don't tie too tightly, it would be light cutting blood flow off to your limb).

Mosses (another with many varieties most common first): java, chirstmas/xmas, flame, singapore, weeping, christmas mini, rose, rose mini, fissendens (several in this sub family cant recall all their names), triangle,.. I'm sure I'm forgetting some..