Betta Fish Forum banner

1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
423 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I've been dealing with a big algae problem lately.
Not a betta tank, but meh ;)

I'm not really experienced with live plants so I'm still learning and everything so every advice will help.

Setup : 32 (ish) gallon fresh water with guppies (around 10 + frys)
Plants : Not sure about everything but : Rotala, Myriophyllum, Amazon Sword, I will add more later once I can find a decent place online. (the selection in LSF sucks) and I still haven't decided what kind.

Temperature : 84
Lights : Aqua-glo and a Flora glo on for about 11-12h a day. I tried for 8-10h but the plants became a bit paler so I'm not sure. No Co2 (doubt I need it with the amount of poop/fishes anyhow heh)

I'm careful not to overfeed (they eat everything in 1 minutes, twice a day, fasting one day)

The green algae is mostly on the glass, the plants seems to be ok (same for the driftwood, but I haven't taken it out of the water to check)

I scrub it once a while, but it's a pain in the butt and even though I know -some- algae is alright, I'm wondering if that quantity is normal... (I have two other tanks, smaller, which don't have the same problem)

I'll try to get an ancistrus soon to help, but I doubt it's going to be enough.
If I add Amano shrimp (like...8-10) would that help? too much?

What can I do?

Attachments

·
Registered
1,335 Posts
I think it's called green spot algae. I had a problem with it once and I kept scrubbing it off. I think your problem, though, is that you keep your tank lights on for waaayyy too long. lol. I think most people recommend 8 hours per day. If your plants aren't doing well when you reduce the hours of light, you may need more wattage and/or higher K number on your lights.

·
Registered
148 Posts