Betta Fish Forum banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
40 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi! I want to thank you all for the invaluable resource that these pages provide. I've kept bettas for years and I'm still learning all kinds of new things from you all. I live in the Bay Area, California and hadn't had a fish for about a year and a half since my last boy, Errol, died. A few weeks ago I decided it was time to set up the tank again and brought a new boy home from Petco. What is this weird color-changing phenomenon? I got a silvery blue fish and now I have a red and blue fish. Strange! His fins first started turning orange (he looked like he was on fire!) and then red. He also devours anything and everything I feed him, hence his name, Pig. As you can see from the few photos that turned out semi-good, he got upgraded from a 3-gal to a 6-gal where he is now exploring his new Pirates of the Caribbean home. He's very interactive, seems excited to see me, and will eat right off of my fingers. I tried him with cherry red shrimp and he was very interested in chasing them so the poor things just hid all the time. I might try ghost or amano shrimp. I think he gets bored so I hope some shrimp will keep him occupied but will also survive the ordeal. The last photo shows the new tank I set up for the handsomest little boy I have coming from Chaba. I can't wait to meet him!

Attachments

·
Registered
462 Posts
Awesome betta!
I used to live in california too, in the san fernando valley area but move to miami like 6 years ago.

·
Registered
462 Posts
I miss california like you have no idea.

·
Registered
40 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
A couple of years ago, I spent 4 "spring" days on the east coast just visiting and sight-seeing. I froze the whole time! I longed for home, let me tell ya. I swore never to complain about our weather again! Nevermind the weird thunderstorm we had last night...

·
Registered
462 Posts