Betta Fish Forum banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
29 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Hello everyone! I didn't want to properly introduce myself until I became and official betta keeper! My name is Tiffany, and I'm currently a college student in Boston studying Graphic Design and Web Development. However, I grew up in Western Mass.

I enjoy drawing, writing, coding websites, and reading tarot cards!

I found this forum after my brother adopted his class pet fish last year. We named him Ishmael, and he had a bad case of fin rot. Researching the forums here helped me get a proper heater and larger bowl. Nowadays, his fins are no longer bloody and are starting to grow back! :D

However caring for his fish got me hooked on fish in general, and after having a horrific accident with goldfish. (my school was giving out free goldfish in tiny half gallon tanks so they died since I didn't know any better.) I thought I wasn't capable of caring for fish and I wanted to redeem myself.

So I read these forums extensively saved up my money, and now I'm the proud owner of Lancelot! A gorgeous dark blue veil teil with purple and red streaked fins. I'd take a photo but he keeps turning out pitch black.

So far he's doing wonderfully, he's eating like a pig, and he has the habit of patrolling around his plant and burrowing up inside it to rest. He also likes to flare up at the heater when it lights up.

Sorry for writing a short novel, if you read this far you deserve a cookie!

·
Premium Member
3,611 Posts
Hi Tiffany and welcome to the forum :wave:

I'm glad you didn't give up on fish. I started with one blue VT male named Baccus (god of wine) and I now have 6 boys in 2.5 or 5 gallon tanks and a 75 gallon community tank.

I grew up in MA but me and the bf built a house here in southern NH in May of 2010. I still work in Boston tho.which makes for a lovely commute :frustrated:

It's nice to have you on board.

·
Premium Member
3,611 Posts