Betta Fish Forum banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
215 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Ok so I'm somewhat new to caring for a betta. I had one years ago and it lived for about 5 months (I didn't know much about betta care). I bought another about a month ago and within two days it developed columnaris so I took it back to the pet store and traded it out for another one. And now I have Kalamari, he's been living for a little over a month, but I've noticed his tail is starting to curl and turn white, translucent at the ends. My water parameters are good according to test strips, everything is within the right ranges. I'm working on getting the master kit that uses water test instead of strips. I recently moved him to a 10 gallon tank, which was suggested by the pet store. I was already getting him one for his one month birthday anyway. Before he was in a 3 gallon tank, both were filtered and heated. I will post pictures of him and the new tank, which I moved him into last night after running for 3 days and checking the water. PLEASE HELP!! I want him to live a long healthy life!! P.S- The 10 gallon tank is filtered and maintaining a temperature of 80 degrees. I'm not sure if it cycled within the 3 days I let it sit fishless, I tested the water before adding him and everything was in good ranges (again according to test strips).

Please help me!! He is currently active and being fed a combo diet of bloodworms 1-2 times a week (half a bloodworm) and pellets the other days (1-2 pellets/day). One day of fasting on Sunday. The filter is a homemade moving gravel filter, this is my first time trying it out.

Attachments

·
Registered
212 Posts
When the ends of the fins turn white, that means new fins are growing. Unless it starts to trun black or reed or you see actual fins coming off, I wouldn't be worried. I would just keep the water sparkling clean and conditioned! Don't worry, he'll be fine!

·
Registered
215 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·