Betta Fish Forum banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi everyone! This is my first time posting on this site, and I know you guys will be able to help me out.

So lets start out with my issue. I was in a secret santa kind of gift exchange, and for one of my gifts, I was given a betta fish and a 1/2 gallon container betta kit. Naturally I set everything up according to the directions, and started to do my research. To my surprise, almost everything mentioned on the box was incorrect according to my research I did. I read online on multiple occasions that a heater was necessary, flake food was awful, I need to change the water very often, the fish is never going to be happy or live very long in a 1/2 gallon tank, and so much more. This info I was reading was so overwhelming, and I don't really know what to follow or do as a next step.

I'm only a senior in high school, so I do have a limited amount of money here. I do have enough I believe to buy my fish what he needs though. I've become very attached to him in the past couple of days I've had him, and I was wondering if you guys could tell me exactly what to get and do as my next step. He seems pretty happy at the moment and is blowing the bubble nests I've been reading about. I really want him to last and have a happy life. Help me!

Thank you so much!

·
Registered
2,033 Posts
Wow that's quite the secret santa gift. I mean, a cool idea but I don't know if I would do that to someone!!

There are a lot of options for you, depending on how much you want to spend. With a betta, they can breathe air from the environment as well as from the water, so many people keep them in an unfiltered tank very well. I personally filter all my tanks because in the end it's much less maintenance, and I'm lazy (and have 6 tanks, so it's a lot of time spent on water changes otherwise).