Betta Fish Forum banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello all, i'm hoping you can give me some advice as it seems my fish may be at the end. I bought him Saturday with a 2.5 gallon tank, a filter, a heater,and an aerator. Filled the tank, added in some instant water conditioner and let it run for about a half hour and placed him in there. He seemed fine for Saturday night and Sunday, however monday he became very lethargic. Online several resources suggested i should be doing a partial water change to help with ammonia, so I did a 50% change Monday night.
He still has not eaten anything and now he is lying at the bottom of his tank on his side, is there anything I can do? Should I do another water change or will that stress him out to the point of death? I'm new to aquariums so I have very limited knowledge

·
Registered
1,616 Posts
Please do fill out the form and try to give us some clear pictures of your betta and his tank.

I will say this, the clumps of bubbles were probably his first attempt at building a bubble nest.

·
Registered
1,616 Posts
@ original poster. Has anyone even tried to help you?
Could you please fill out the form and post some pics.
Mods, could one of you seperate these two threads? It's confusing and I think the OP might have given up!

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #6 (Edited)
OP Here

I'm OP, hopinh this confusion gets cleared up. As requested, here is the filled out form

Housing:
How many gallons is your tank? 2.5
Does it have a filter? Yes
Does it have a heater?yes
What temperature is your tank?78F
Does your tank have an air stone or other type of aeration?Yes, bubble wand that he swims in, seems to enjoy
Does your Betta have tank mates? What kind?no

Food:
What food brand do you use?Still figuring out what he likes, pellets or flakes
Do you feed flakes or pellets?so far he has only touched flakes
Freeze-dried?n/a