Betta Fish Forum banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
Cat: Harry. Bettas: Aeneas, Artemis, Janus, Jupiter, Mars, Pluto, Saturn, and Vulcan
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey! I’m Jane, and I’m a 26 year old nurse from the Boston area. I have eight bettas, all in their own tanks. Seven boys, one girl.

I was cycling my tanks when I learned that a former colleague’s cousin told him that she was going to flush her betta down the toilet alive if she couldn’t rehome the fish. Couldn’t have that! So I got her that very day, and stopped the fishless cycle as it was only beginning anyway. She’s a little Cambodian female who I called Artemis. She’s spunky, curious, friendly, and even the non-fish people in my life think she’s a cutie.

I went to a LFS to get some Seachem Prime. I was pretty upset by the betta display. There was one fish in particular. His water was a murky brown, and stool/uneaten food had together congealed into a good sized ball. He had severe SBD, and was buried in the pile of stool, thrashing and thrashing to get out but couldn’t.

I couldn’t get him out of my mind. I had heard that a fish in cycle was a lot for a beginner (had a betta as a kid, he lived to be 7 amazingly but I did not know a thing about cycling or proper back then-my 3 gallon tank for him was seen as super luxury). Wondered if it was worth trying. Reached out to Reddit and Facebook groups, which encouraged me.

I went back for him. I noticed next to him a gray betta, floating at the top. Thought he was dead. Went for a closer look and he began to move a bit, gills panting hard. I went to get that little blue crowntail, but the manager wouldn’t let me take him home due to his illness! Managed to get away with getting the one I had thought was dead that day though, alongside a third tank. Named this little one Aeneas. He has chronic SBD but is so colorful now; I call him my rainbow fish.