Betta Fish Forum banner
1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi everyone, I just got this Betta as a surprise for my birthday last month. He was kinda iridescent white if that makes sense and he had some small black spots in his face a body but they weren’t noticeable but now they have spread to lager portions of his body. His fins also seem to be kinda ragged in spots. I will take any advice or product recommendations that don’t cost a fortune since I’m a university student getting by thank you!

Housing:
How many gallons is your tank? (2)
Does it have a filter? (Yes)
Does it have a heater? (Yes)
What temperature is your tank? (25c)
Does your tank have an air stone or other type of aeration? (No)
Does your Betta have tank mates? What kind? (No)

Food:
What food brand do you use? (Tetra)
Do you feed flakes or pellets? (Flakes)
Freeze-dried? (Blood worms x2 a week)
How often do you feed your Betta? How much? (Twice a day, one small pinch)

Maintenance:
Before your Betta became ill how often did you perform a water change? (Every 2 weeks)
What percentage of water did you change? (All)
What is the source of your water? (Tap)
Do you vacuum the substrate or just dip out water? (No I dump water and rinse rocks)
What additives do you use other than conditioner? What brand of conditioner? (API Betta water conditioner with aloe)

Water Parameters:
What are your water parameters? Please give exact numbers. If tested by pet store please get exact numbers. "Fine" or "Safe" won't help us help you. Important: Test your water before the regular water change; not after one.

Ammonia: (don’t have a test)
Nitrite: 0
Nitrate: 15mg/L
pH: 6.8
Hardness (GH): 25
Alkalinity (KH): 0

Symptoms and Treatment:
When did you first notice the symptoms? (Just now)
How has your Betta’s appearance changed?(yes, he is turning black)
How has your Betta’s behavior changed?(not really other than we was sitting but where the water just drawn into filter kinda stuck to it)