Betta Fish Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello!
This is my first time owning a betta and maybe need some help with him.
I bought a betta from petco a few days ago (his names zuko and I think hes still a baby). Right now hes in a ten gallon tank with a filter and heater and some fake plants and real plants. (I do plan to get him more stuff)
Is it normal for him not to do much? His tank is on my desk so most of the time I get to watch him and he almost never leaves the corner of the tank closes to me. It's like hes always watching me but I hope it doesnt mean anything bad.
He has also been getting more aggressive, I did my first water change with him in the tank and he kept attacking my hand. I find it cute and all but I hope it doesnt mean anything bad. Since I dont see him do much I like to poke my finger in his tank and let him chase it (hes getting more gutsy and biting my finger more to)
It also looks like hes getting black spots on him? I dont know if they're just color or some kind of sickness. Hes also kinda transparent, I think hes just cellophane but I'm not to sure
(Sorry about the bad pictures)

·
Super Moderator
19,930 Posts
Welcome to the Forum!

He is a marble; those are normal black spots. He may eventually turn mostly black. Zuko's a cute little guy, isn't he???

It is not unusual for new Betta to stay in one spot; especially when they have gone from a tiny cup to a large tank. It will just take him awhile to start exploring.

With baby Betta is it important to keep water its cleanest. Should you wish to read it, here is the Forum's tutorial on cycling. You will need SeaChem Prime and an API Master Test Kit for Freshwater. You can use strips but the kit gives you so many more tests that you get more bang for your buck. If you can't budget in the entire kit, at least get the l iquid Ammonia test.

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Thank you! That makes me a little less worried about him,