Betta Fish Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
71 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
-I apologize in advance if this is in the wrong section. I'm not very good at this whole "forum" thing.-

Anyway, I just thought I'd share that as I become more advanced as a fish keeper, I start to take on more challenges, and this is leading me away from keeping mainly bettas.

If you haven't yet, please check out my post "I Saved The Life Of An Oscar". If you're too lazy to read it, basically I rescued a 5-6 inch oscar cichlid, planned to re-home him, and then got attached. I got a new 75 gal tank just for him.

As soon as we get back from vacation, I'm going to pick up a convict and see if he likes tank mates okay. Oscars are great. Having him is a great way to keep my stock down from my guppy breeding days.

My plan is to get one more betta for my divided 10 gal, and then fill whatever tanks I might get for the holidays. :) Then, my money and energy will mostly be focused on cichlids. Don't worry, though. I'll still keep a betta in each community tank!

·
Registered
80 Posts
Yeah I had that too. In my first year or 2 I had a few zebra danios, yes, those indestructible fish... And they never had any issues which was good because I didn't have to find money and time out of no where to care for them further. But on the other hand, by them not having any illnesses I wasn't really learning anything either. So i let them live out their lives, and i then moved on to what were supposed to be weak fish, the neon tetras which also turned out to be fine.

I'm going to stop waffling now, but the moral is that everyone goes through these phases when they move away from a certain species that they have been keeping for a while in order to seek a new challenge.

P.S: What kind of betta are you thinking of getting?

·
Registered
1,010 Posts