Betta Fish Forum banner

1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I got my betta 3 days ago. My 2.5 gal. tank, filled with conditioned water that had been standing for 24 hrs. It has gravel, a filter, a heater, rocks, and plants.

At first he swam at the top. I didn't feed me the first day, and 1 pellet day 2. He didn't eat. Then he swam at the top. He's never swam around. On day two, after reading some articles that swimming on top meant toxic water, I cycled about 25% of 24 hr conditioned water. He still stayed on top. He ate 1 pellet. Day 3 he was still on top so I cycled 25% of 24 hr conditioned water. Tonight he was swimming at the bottom for a while, now he's back on top.

What should i do? Should I continue to cycle the tank? How often?
Thank you. I'm new to having a betta.

·
Registered
405 Posts
By conditioned water, do you mean you used water conditioner? It's only safe to use conditioner if you haven't already done so :) sitting water doesn't do justice.

Also it sounds like you're using room temperature water, without a heater? Betta fish really thrive, become more active and become more immune to illnesses if you have a good heater for the tank.

This is if you didn't already, since when you make water changes, they have to be the same temperature as the previous water, therefore the room temperature thing kind of got me here.

·
Registered
331 Posts
Congratulations on your new betta!
By conditioned 24 hour water, what do you mean exactly?