Betta Fish Forum banner

1 - 3 of 3 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello,

I'm hoping that someone here can help me out since I'm new to caring for a Betta. I've filled in the form and attached some photos below. A little bit of background, I acquired this betta male (his name is Zed) from someone who had him for a couple of years. Zed came with his tank and all his food, and I've attempted to maintain the same schedule as the previous owner. I acquired Zed about a month ago (early May 2021), and the first month Zed was active throughout his tank. The past week, Zed has been lethargic, looks like he's breathing heavily, and today a brown streak appeared on his side.

Housing:
How many gallons is your tank?
3.5 (Top Fin Enchant)

Does it have a filter?
Yes, a Top Fin EF-S Element filter.

Does it have a heater?
Yes, an Aqueon heater.

What temperature is your tank?

25 C or 77 F

Does your tank have an air stone or other type of aeration?
No

Does your Betta have tank mates? What kind?
No, Zed does not have tank mates; however, the start of Zed's lethargy coincides with setting up a new tank next to his for a second betta. The second tank is identical, and the other betta (Gerard) is not showing any unusual behavior.

Food:
What food brand do you use?

I use Fluval Bug Bites, Omega One super color flakes, and Aqueon betta food (pellets). These all came with Zed and were his food before I adopted him. I also have Nutrafin basix blood worms that I acquired separately.

Do you feed flakes or pellets?

I alternate between the different foods. I tried the blood worms with Zed earlier on, but he didn't seem to like them.

Freeze-dried?

Just the blood worms, but as mentioned, Zed didn't like them.

How often do you feed your Betta? How much?

I feed Zed twice a day (once in the morning and once at night). Each feeding is 2 to 3 pellets or a couple of flakes. Previously Zed would gobble these up, and even hunt for pieces that fell to the substrate.