Betta Fish Forum banner

1 - 20 of 28 Posts

·
Registered
1,121 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Ok so a couple of weeks ago I posted pics of my three new "females"
Pineapple/Luna has been really aggressive since we put her in the tank, she has torn the other girl's fins to pieces, and her fins just seem to be getting longer and longer, I think she may be a boy :/ HELP?!
I have posted a picture, sorry it isnt very good.I really need to know!!!she/he is in a breeding trap for now, until I know for certain, Please help!!!

·
Registered
692 Posts
very pretty coloring~ I agree with Sweeda, but don't boys have the to long fins in the front? Beards i think is what they are called...unless the picture is so blurry I can't see xD

·
Registered
3,158 Posts
Males only have beards when they flare. It doesn't show otherwise.

·
Registered
1,040 Posts
Hmm... she does sort of look like a male. Does (s)he have an eggspot? (S)he looks like a young VT or DeT, but I'm not an expert. I'd say (S)he's a male. :/

·
Registered
3,158 Posts
I think it's a young male delta. There's no way a fish with fins that long is a female. Also, the body shape is not feminine. Females usually have a rounded belly.

·
Registered
4,590 Posts
it does show even without flaring, but it is most likey a YOUNG male
because young males tend to look like females until there around 4 or 5 months (IMO) but yes it is a male (to me it does)

·
Registered
1,121 Posts
Discussion Starter #8
Hmm... she does sort of look like a male. Does (s)he have an eggspot? (S)he looks like a young VT, but I'm not an expert.
A tiny tiny one but it isnt very clear at all, I think (s)he is a male juvi?

·
Registered
1,040 Posts
Looks like one. What are you going to do with him? Probably need to re-name him. LOL.

·
Registered
1,121 Posts
Discussion Starter #10
I have a fry tank with baby platys in at the moment, they're big enough for him to leave them alone, I can put him in there untill I get him his own tank

·
Registered
1,121 Posts