Betta Fish Forum banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Hi Betta People,

I'm brand new to Betta ownership. A friend got me a male Betta as a gift. My son named it "Power Fish." I received it in January. It's in a large vase that I'm guessing is around 1.5 gallons which came with some live plants that are rooted in this sort of mossy/cotton ball like material. I've had him around 2 months now. For the past month I've seen increased lethargy. He sleeps/hides almost all day (not sure if he's more active at night). Just yesterday after doing a water change I noticed that his fins appear more stiff than normal. It seems to be affecting his swimming in that he's using his side fins almost exclusively.

I've looked at this site a lot since I've become a Betta owner and am guessing the water temp is one issue (but have been reluctant to heat vase b/c of small size). I'm open to getting a bigger home for him -- up to 2 or 2.5 gallons. I'm also wondering if you see signs of "Velvet" disease, as I THINK his color has faded a bit. I'm just not sure. I'm also wondering if I should get rid of the material that the plants are rooted in. I could buy some sand instead, or some smooth rocks. I also have some driftwood which I've heard is recommended? I have Epsom salts here at home too if you think that would help. I'm a newbie and need some advice from the experts. See my answers below. Thanks so much.

Does it have a heater? No
What temperature is your tank? 69-70 degrees depending on ambient temp
Does your tank have an air stone or other type of aeration? No
Does your Betta have tank mates? What kind? No

Food:
What food brand do you use? Hikari® Betta Bio-Gold®
Do you feed flakes or pellets? Pellets
Freeze-dried? No
How often do you feed your Betta? How much? 2-3 pellets, 1x/day, in morning

Maintenance:
Before your Betta became ill how often did you perform a water change? 1x/week, 25-50% changes