Betta Fish Forum banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
Raphael (white/red betta), Vincent (blue/yellow betta), The Pandas (cories), Baby (juvinile bnp)
36 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Hey, I'm totally new to the hobby and im worried about my new betta boy, Raphael.

He's been in my tank for over a week now and has been doing really well. I'll leave all my specs below, but im using him to fish in cycle with great care. I read up on the nitrogen cycle for weeks and prepared myself for the task.

I monitor my parameters every day and am working on a routine of feeding him a small amount one day and doing a 10 litre water change the day after and just repeating that.

Week 1, my ammonia rose steadily to around 1ppm and then declined. A few days ago, week 2, my nitrites started to increase to 0.25ppm. I performed a water change and fed him the next day (yesterday). Today, my ammonia was at 1ppm and my nitrite was at around 2.0ppm, a shocking spike to say the least. I was so paniked but did a 50% water change. Im dosing Seachem prime to detoxify it hopefully as well as using API quick start every day. the water was looking slightly cloudy before todays water change too.

My main concern however is that Raph is showing 2 vertical stripes on his body. I know about stress stripes but most people seemed to say those are horizontal or perhaps a sign of submission. He is still young and only 2 inches nose to the end of his fin. I'll try to add pictures tomorrow as its late now.

He's got a white body thats irridecent (can never spell that lol) and red fins and a black marking on his face, plus white tips on his bottom fins (no clue about proper anatomy yet, sorry!)

I'm just so worried as I love him loads and just want him to be safe and happy.

More info: