Betta Fish Forum banner

1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
26 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Hi everyone!
I am new to this thread so please be patient with me ;; I stumbled upon this website due to the current condition my betta fish is in. I've been researching around and found this little betta fish community because I ran out of options, I hope you guys can help me out here! I have discovered that bloating is a really common issue for betta fish owners.
Since I am new, I am very much inexperienced with taking care of one of these little guys. I had a betta fish in the past but I was very young and did not know how to properly care for one and it died within a few months due to dropsy. :serious:
I now have another betta fish who I have named Lord Gustav. I have spent quite a lot of time to provide my sweet princey-poo a good home. I am quite low on budget so he currently lives in a 2 gallon bowl with no heater and filter. And before you say anything else, he was quite accustomed to the living space, the energetic little guy made lots of bubbly frothy bubbles daily. :grin2: He's also super playful and loves to circle around and under ornamentations and pick on my marimo moss ball, so I know he's happy. Although, I would like the best for my Gussy, so I am saving up for at least a 5 gallon tank for him (but that doesn't seem to be contributing to the issue right now imo. What do you guys think???)
He's had a slight bloat when I first got him, but now its getting worse!

-I have fed him the brand AQUEON BETTA FOOD PELLETS, and I am not sure if this is what is making him bloat. Used the method of soaking the pellets in for 10 minutes. I used to give him 6-8 pellets. Now I feed him 3-4 pellets a day now. DID NOT WORK!

-Also used the EPSOM salt method. Did this for every water change.