Betta Fish Forum banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm new to betta ownership, at least in my adult life. I've had three fish. The first died after a week. I then did a 50% water change when adding the second one. He died after three days. I let the tank cycle for 3 weeks and then added a fish again. He has been here for 4 days now but is going to die any minute now. I got my water tested and they said it was fine. I took my fish out of the tank to completely rinse it and noticed that my fish had moldy, cottony looking stuff on his body and mouth. After much searching, I'm almost positive it's cotton wool disease. I've put some aquarium salts in with my struggling betta but I don't think he's going to make it. My question is how do I now sanitize my tank before bringing home a new fish (if the unfortunate but increasingly unavoidable happens) so that he doesn't contract it as well.

My 3 gallon tank has some gravel and decorations, thermostat, filter, heater, and a snail. I want to make sure whatever has been making my fish sick is gone before I try again.

Housing
What size is your tank? 3 gallons
What temperature is your tank? 78 degrees
Does your tank have a filter? Yes
Does your tank have an air stone or other type of aeration? No
Is your tank heated? Yes
What tank mates does your betta fish live with? A snail

Food
What type of food do you feed your betta fish? Pellets (I know now, not the best, but honestly they never even show interest in food)
How often do you feed your betta fish? Once a day, if that, but they don't eat

Maintenance
How often do you perform a water change? Twice a week
What percentage of the water do you change when you perform a water change?
25%
What type of additives do you add to the water when you perform a water change? De chlorinating

Water Parameters:
Have you tested your water? If so, what are the following parameters?
Got tested at petco, they said everything was fine
Ammonia:
Nitrite: