Betta Fish Forum banner

1 - 20 of 23 Posts

·
Registered
15 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Saphire caught my eye as a BEAUTIFUL halfmoon Betta at the petsore, so I got him right away with water conditioner and food (3 days ago). He is my first fish, and I fell for the low maintenance myth. I got home and did some research so I put him in the largest vessel I could find in my house which is a gallon vase. I overfed him at first, but have learned that just a few pellets are enough. I'm going to the store today and I'm buying a 5 gallon tank with lights filter and real plants. I'm also getting a gravel vacuum so I can do better water changes for him and just do 50% every other day. Should I leave Saphire in his bowl until I can cycle the tank? (which I've never done before so it will probably take me a while.) Or should I move him straight into the tank and do a fish-in cycle? Which is better since I already have Saphire and I want to keep him healthy and happy?

·
Registered
329 Posts
I never cycle my tanks and I have never had a problem. I would buy a 5 gallon tank with a filter and if you don't have a heater already, that would be good. I they like temperatures of 78-80 generally, but make sure it is at least 70 degrees F. Also feed him 3 pellets everyday (skip a day in the week if you want it helps digestion). A really good brand of food is new life spectrum too. Water changes with a gravel vacuum you need to do a 50% water change once a week. Make sure you use water conditioner to make the tap water safe for fish. Good luck :)

·
Registered
297 Posts
I'm currently trying to cycle with fish in. I bought Tetra Safe Start. It seems to be doing well. My ammonia and nitrites are at zero and my nitrates are around 5 or .5? I can't remember what my water test thing shows. Def snag a heater as well. My stubborn boy won't eat new life spectrum but loves Omega One. I think I got it from Petsmart.

·
Registered
572 Posts