Not open for further replies.
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi everyone,

I am very new to life as a betta owner.
I only bought my new betta yesterday after having his tank set up for a week as per advice received at the fish store.
I'm looking at him now and it seems that his head has gone really dark, almost black? I'm worried that I've done something wrong.
I have him in a 9L tank (approx. 2.3 gallons I believe) which was recommended to me at the shop. I have a filter running, and a heater set at 25 degrees celsius.

He seems to be okay otherwise as best I know. He'll start swimming around and come up to me if I go over near the tank, and he did eat this morning when I fed him.

I've attached some photos, one being just of him in his current set up, sorry the quality is bad but he is difficult to capture!

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter #2
Also, the ph level is somewhere between 7.0 and 7.5, it was hard to match the colour to the sheet.
He also seems to spend a bit of time at the bottom of the tank. Is this bad?

·
Registered
1,793 Posts
Hi and welcome to the forum.

Its not unusual for betta's to colour up slightly when they settle in their new home. From what I can tell from the picture it looks to be normal colouring to me. a lot of betta's do have a dark head.

Just keep an eye on your Ammonia and Nitrite levels as with a new set up this will be what will affect him the most, if not kept in check.

I would also suggest getting him some silk plants with wide leaves that will sit close to the surface just to provide him with some resting places near the surface should he wish to.

But all is looking good from what I can see.

·
Registered
1,793 Posts