Betta Fish Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi Everyone,

This is my very first post and I'm new to Betta fish care. First I want to thank those of you who set up this forum. I have learned SO MUCH just browsing through the posts here. From what I've read, I'm really not sure if I need to be worried or not. I've had my Betta for about 10 days now and I have not seen him eat a single thing. I've tried Aqueon betta pellets, Omega betta flakes, freeze dried blood worms - and I even tried soaking the pellets in garlic. Anyway, that along with one other odd thing has me worried. The other odd thing is that his dorsal fin curls over a bit at the top and looks a little thin, I'm not sure how else to describe it. It's almost looks like it could be disintegrating, but I can't really see any holes or anything, it doesn't look like it's torn. It's been like that since we got him and it doesn't seem to be getting any worse, but also not any better. It's so subtle that I'm not even able to get a photo of it. Should I be worried? What should I do? I would truly appreciate any advice that you can provide. Thanks in advance!

Housing:
How many gallons is your tank? Top Fin® 5 Gallon Glass Aquarium
Does it have a filter? Yes, the filter that came with it
Does it have a heater? Yes, Grreat Choice 15 watt heater

What temperature is your tank? Regularly about 84 degrees - is that too hight? I've been thinking about switching to the 7.5 watt heater.
Does your tank have an air stone or other type of aeration? No
Does your Betta have tank mates? What kind? None
I should probably note here that I removed the plastic plants that we originally got for the tank after reading posts here. I am trying out an Anubias plant and mondo grass, 1 of each. He seems to love the anubias, although I'm not sure if either will make it. I don't exactly have a green thumb.

Food:
What food brand do you use? Aqueon Pellets, Omega Flakes